Thumbs Up
    Received: 2
    Given: 0

Haul and Tow vs. Haul (Stepdeck, lowboy, etc.)

Hi Everyone
    I am a Newbie here so please bear with me as I try to ask intelligent question/questions.
    Some RV company's only lease pickups and Haul and Tow, not lowboys. This leads me to believe there is an advantage to running a Haul and Tow vs. haul only. But my brain keeps telling me a lowboy would be more versatile. Plus the companies that do lease lowboys pay lowboys more.
    I am confused about the advantages and disadvantages to running a Haul and Tow vs. just Haul.
    I have read most post about Haul and Tow and have these questions.
    Which is more versatile? Can one haul more types of cargo than the other?
    Which gets more haul backs?
    Which is better to drive?
    Can you make more money with one then the other?
    In other words, is one better than the other?
    THANKS

A little about me. I was laid off when the refinery I'd worked at for thirty-one years closed last year. I am in a retraining program that will end in December of this year. I am trying to figure out what I want to do when I grow up and think I will use my one-ton to haul RV's. If it is a fit for me I would quickly upgrade to Haul and tow or Haul only. I have hauled a three car wedge in the past so I have a little experience.
    Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
    THANKS AGAIN

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 1
    The haul only guys only work part time. Its seasonal work because only smaller trailers can be hauled. I never seen a haul only guy do well. The haul and tow can throw a small rv on board and then haul a 5th wheel or large tag trailer behind.

If you are going to do multiples, forget the dually and buy a semi like Jarrett done. His semi would get 10-11 loaded and 12 empty. He always grabbed a car on the return to pay for his fuel back.